Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

Winter Sunrise

Winter Sunrise

Our Winter Solstice plans were interrupted by a beautiful snow storm. Unfortunately Daddy has to be at work in bad weather, just in case a computer conks out.  So we made the best of it, got up very early, lit a bunch of candles around the house, because in our celebration of Winter Solstice (observed, the actual date this year is the 21st) we don’t turn on any electric lights until the sun is up, and opened presents by candle light. Vincent received several electricity-free games, like Topple, Uno, and Connect Four, and one DS game called WordJong, which I thought would be a good way for him to work on his spelling.   The blueberry pancake breakfast I planned turned into a blueberry pancake dinner.  We also had to pick up our Angel Food Ministries order, which was more complicated by my children than the weather.  Thankfully a friend from church helped me get my boxes of food to the car!

Vincent has been enjoying the snow! This is really the first time in his life (he’s seven) there has been enough snow to

Snow Heart

Snow Heart

play in it! Usually when it snows, it just melts and is gone in a day.  He said to me “Mom, I’ve never made a snowman! I don’t know how!”  So I gave him the general idea, bundled him up in his warmest clothes, dug out the snow boots, and sent him outside. He’s been playing outside all weekend switching off between Rock Band (hey, at least it’s not violent) and playing in the snow. He’s desperate to have a snow ball fight.  I wish we had friendly neighbors with kids his age. (That didn’t have a dog that ate my chickens, but I suppose having two roosters makes me not a great neighbor either.) Today he and Daddy are playing in the snow and checking on the chickens together ! Church is canceled today, so I’m going to catch up on laundry and blogging!

Have a Blessed Day!

Liz

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Anne on January 25, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Love the snow heart! I think I’ll follow your tradition when Liam’s old enough to really enjoy it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

