And Then There Were 12

Just before Thanksgiving, several of our hens went missing, and I did actually see my neighbor’s dog eating one of my Rhode Island Reds. Unfortunately there isn’t much I can do about the dog, unless I get a picture. Trust me I did call the sheriff, but the neighbors swear their dog doesn’t get out of the invisible fence.  So now I am down to 10 hens and 2 roosters, and I have them confined to the coops.  They aren’t happy about it but I bring them my

Chickens Eating Apple Scraps

Chickens Eating Apple Scraps

table scraps to eat, in addition to their feed and “scratch”.  They really love apples and anything with seeds like squash.  A friend who makes his own beer gives us sprouted grain to feed them as well.  My heated chicken fountain appears to be working, keeping the water ice free when it gets below freezing, and turning itself off when it’s above freezing.We did put up a light on a timer that is on from about 5pm to 10pm, to keep the hens laying,  and our electric bill only went up $10/month, so not so bad.  Good news is that egg production is going well, I get about an extra 3 dozen eggs every week.   We plan to build a “Chicken Tractor” in the spring, so the hens can get more pasture time, but for now this is the best we can do.

Leave a Reply

