The Transition Movement

At church yesterday, Andy spoke about a book called “The Transition Handbook” which is about how communities can make a planned transition into the “Energy Decline” and how to build local economies.  As a homesteader, I’m already part of this movement and I am fond of this new label.  I haven’t studied the issue of “Peak Oil” as much as Andy has, but I agree we are probably at the top of that bell curve and it’s in our own best interest to march boldly into an energy scarce future with a plan, with hope, and with a community.

One thing Andy emphasized is the need for community effort. He pointed out that the Environmental movement is very much “doom and gloom” and that it is narrowly focused on individuals making small changes (for example changing to florescent light bulbs)  and government passing laws, and totally ignores the community level of response.  It’s kind of ironic that this talk was at a house of worship because I recall one talk with a biologist working at a wetlands preserve in Symrna DE where I argued that people won’t listen to environmental issues until ministers preach it at church, and this biologist was dumb founded. He said that he thought people wouldn’t listen until they stopped going to church.   And this is what I love best about the UU, the delicious paradox that science and faith can peacefully co-exist.

I’m glad my UU Fellowship is a community where we can talk about The Transition.  I like to say, I’m not afraid of hard work, or getting my hands dirty, but being without allies would be very hard.  I’ve been watching the TV show “Jericho” off the internet, and what scares me the most are the terrible things humans can and will do to one another in a crisis.  We all need to remember that things don’t make us happy, that hard work won’t kill us, and that humans lived without electricity for hundreds of years!

And one last tidbit, the UUFS is implementing, is an on-going arts and crafts table where members can sell their hand made things, donating 30% to the church.  I put out a bowl of crocheted hair scrunchies for $1 each and I sold four!  Goodbye Etsy, local is where it’s at!

Blessings!

Liz

Leave a Reply

