How to Cut an Onion Without Crying!

I found this trick a few weeks ago, and I’ve used this trick without crying ever since!  But instead of tossing out the chunk of onion that has the gasses in it that make you cry,  I toss it in a bag in the freezer with all my other veggie odds and ends and they get added to the bones and meat when I make stock.

BTW, making your own stock saves a lot of money! If you buy bone-in chicken breast, cut off the rib meat and freeze it for stock. Poof! You have made another meal out of that cut of meat. You can even freeze stock or if you are really talented presure can it. I haven’t tried that yet, but I would like to!

Liz

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Wendy Hawksley on November 30, 2009 at 2:37 am

    This is perfect – I always bawl my eyes out when I cut onions. Now I will use this trick next time I cut an onion. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

